How I've set goals for 2023.

How I've set goals for 2023.

ยท

3 min read

Overview

Learn how to set SMART goals.

  • Specific.

    • Make specific goals and narrow for more effective planning.
  • Measurable.

    • Evidence to prove that we are making progress and reevaluate when necessary.
  • Attainable.

    • Accomplish a goal within a certain timeframe.
  • Relevant.

    • Goals should align with our values and long-term objectives.
  • Time-based.

    • Realistic & ambitious deadline for prioritization and motivation.

I've split my goals for 2023 in a personal and professional way. With this, I will be able to focus on the areas which I can improve upon and work towards that without any confusion and strike a balance.

Just a small piece of advice to readers. Never just set a goal and leave it as such. Main success lies in attaining the end state of the goal (Which can be achieved by proper planning and setting a game plan to complete those).

  • Set a realistic goal.

  • Keep track of the plan on how to execute it.

  • Work towards it and review it if needed.

Goals

๐Ÿ’ช๐Ÿฝ Start Date: Jan 1st, 2023.

๐Ÿคž๐Ÿฝ Review Date: Sep 30th, 2023.

๐ŸคŒ๐Ÿฝ Review Blog Date: Dec 1st, 2023. (Will write a post about success/failure rate).

๐Ÿค๐Ÿฝ End Date: Dec 31st, 2023.

Professional ๐Ÿ’ป

Let's start with improving myself professionally with the below goals.

  • Learn about Distributed System designs in depth.

    • Have started watching Martin Kleppmann's lectures about Distributed Systems. (Reference below)

    • Publish common System design architectures (Say job scheduler) and make it open-sourced in GitHub.

  • Post articles about engineering in my blog every Saturday.

    • Have already created a series in this blog to get started.

    • Have created a reminder to ensure I post regularly. (I consider reminders seriously OCD ๐Ÿคง)

  • Start a side project with my friends.

    • We are still working on solving some customer pain points. Still figuring it out. WIP ๐Ÿ—๏ธ
  • Write production level Machine learning (ML) applications.

    • Have started watching the youtube playlist by HuggingFace. (Reference below)

Personal ๐Ÿ‘จ

Let's look at some of the goals I always wanted to achieve personally.

  • Get fitter and reduce my weight to around 85-88kgs.

    • Currently, I weigh 93 kgs. Have set a reminder to start working out ๐Ÿ‹๏ธโ€โ™€๏ธ at least 5 times a week and never skip 2 days in a row.
  • Save emergency funds. (At least 3-6 months of my monthly salary)

    • Have to start this by creating a mandate for arbitrage funds in Zerodha Coin.
  • Invest my excess money ๐Ÿ’ฐ each month in the Indian and US stock markets.

    • Have created SIP in stocks in both markets.
  • Donation.

    • Have started this by donating 1000 rupees ๐Ÿ’ด on a monthly basis online.

    • Have to discuss this with some of my friends/relatives to carry it out in person. I personally feel happy and satisfied when I donate to those who are in need.

References

This is the last post for this year, see you next year with much more useful and interesting content. ๐Ÿฅน

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Karthick Ramjee by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!

ย